European Pork

The European Union

The European Union is a unique economic & political union between 28 European countries that covers most of the continent.

The single market, also known as the internal market, was created in 1992.
This refers to the EU as a single territory without any internal borders or obstacles to the free movement of goods, services & people. It has fuelled economic growth and made everyday life of European businesses and consumers easier.

The single European currency, the EURO, was launched in 1999.
More than 340 million EU citizens in 19 countries now use it as their currency.
Ireland is located in the western part of Europe bound by the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish sea.